Aesop’s Fables are for adults too

Do not count your chickens before they are hatched.

English: The slave Aesop serving two priests, ...

I just finished a free e-book version of Aesop’ Fables.  I haven’t really gotten into those fables since I was a child and my Grandmother read them to me.  Old Aesop, supposedly a Greek slave, who lived circa  620–564 BC, according to Wikipedia, created as many as 500 fables, many of which have survived and been published.  Re-reading a collection of about 80 fables, many years after I first heard them, I  realized that Aesop contributed more than just a collection of time-worn cliches.  The fables speak to human behavior.

It seems that most business books I read address SUCCESS in some dimension.  Aesop told the original success stories:  The Hare and the Tortoise, The Fox and the Grapes,  The Ant and the Grasshopper, Hercules and the Wagoner, all address the same types of behaviors that have made millions for modern self-help and business writers.

Grab a free copy for your Kindle HERE.  And remember that the punchline from  Hercules and the Wagoner, “the gods help them that help themselves.”

Image: The slave Aesop serving two priests, by Francis Barlow. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment